47 Days till Graduation

As I sit on my couch, pondering life by watching movies and knitting, I start to think about how I want to see my life in the future. And when I mean future, like what type of life I want to have in the next year, the next 10 years, and pretty much how I want to look back 50 years and see my life as. This all just seems to be a little bit overwhelming at times for me, but this has been the type of person I have always been. I plan for the future, sometimes forgetting about the present, and always thinking about the destination rather than the journey.

Now I will have to say, this is not always in every aspect of my life. The times that I feel the freest is when I am on a true vacation. The ones where I go away for a week and there is nothing really planned and all I have to do is bask in the moments. I think that those are the times that I feel at peace, and that is the reason that I love to travel and want to do so much more in the future. I love to learn about new cultures, revisit places I haven’t been to in a while, discover hidden gems, and to create a memory that can last beyond a picture.

As a coming to be college graduate, I have no money, and I don’t particularly like sleeping in hostels and backpacking. I do think that the experience of it that I did in Europe while I studied abroad was great and it allowed for me to experience something new, but I do really like my privacy and to know that I don’t have to worry so much about my belongings. Given this information, it means that I will never really have a cheap trip. I will always have to save up a couple grand and make sure I have sufficient vacation time. But past this point I just shared with you, it made me realize that the things that some people value in life are quite different from mine.

Most people after college want to land a career with a company that pays well so that they can start saving up money to start the “American Dream.” Now I have to say, yes I would like to start saving up money, but I don’t really want to work for a big corporation or for a company for that matter for the rest of my life. Yes; I am one of those young adults who want to be there own boss, but don’t really have the experience needed to really be one successfully. But that is the reason why I do want to work for a small company, preferably a company that has the same views on design that I do so that I will know how it will really be for me to do it myself. I can then learn how long it will really take, how much money it takes, and what results I should expect. By becoming my own boss however, it means that I can travel whenever I feel like and for however long I want. That is the main reason that I want to become my own boss and start my own design company.

I don’t think that I really want to start working right out of college though. I would love to take the summer to figure myself out a bit more, have a random job, start an etsy shop and just start to figure out what being an adult in this day and age really means anymore.

As I get closer to graduation, I will keep you guys updated on the workings of my mind and how this adult thing is working out for me.

Leave a Reply

